Recent reads 13th August

Went to Waterstones for the first time in a while to pick up American Gods for my husband. I do like bookshops (although I must admit I am an Amazon girl) but it annoys me how books are categorised – even though Neil Gaiman is an exceptionally talented, well respected and award-winning author, I have to go upstairs to the tiny weeny teeny Fantasy/Science Fiction section (when other authors who I will not name and shame here are right at the front of the shop, some of them even in the Fiction section, and I’m using Fiction here in the broadest use of the word). Sorry for the rant. Anyway…. I am not the worlds biggest Neil Gaiman fan, although I do really like the Sandman series of graphic novels, but I gave it a quick read and I was quite impressed. It reminds me a lot of Sandman, more than his other books, which maybe why I liked it so much. The husband is reading it now and he seems to like it too.

Whilst I was exiled in the Fantasy section I came across China Mieville. I have read a couple of his books before, I was especially impressed with Kraken which I read earlier this year. He is like weird fantasy alternative reality steam punk type stories, but also really well plotted and beautifully written. So I picked up Embassytown because I thought the cover looked pretty and it’s about space. I am so glad I did, this book blew my mind. It is definitely the best book I have read so far this year. If you like aliens, space travel, intergalactic politics and intricacies of language then this is the book for you. I really like how all of the Mieville books I have read so far have all been completely different, yet you can still tell you are reading one of his. If you are a fan of Mieville please let me know which one to try next!

IMG_20140729_175823

Leave a Reply

